COMMUNIQUÉ TRAVEL RESTRICTIONS FROM SOUTHERN AFRICA

Following the identification of a new COVID-19 variant (B.1.1.529) in South Africa and neighbouring countries, Government has decided to adopt the following measures with respect to: South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini and Zimbabwe.

- 1. All commercial passenger flights from South Africa to Mauritius are suspended with effect from 2359 hours on Sunday 28 November 2021.
- 2. Passengers who have been physically present in any of the six above mentioned countries within the last 14 days preceding the date of arrival in Mauritius will not be allowed entry or transit in the Republic of Mauritius.
- 3. Repatriation flights from South Africa for Mauritian citizens as well as Occupational and Resident Permit holders will be coordinated by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and will be subject to strict sanitary protocols including quarantine.

The helpdesk at the Ministry, for stranded Mauritians, may be contacted on +230 405 2576 during office hours and email queries directed to mfaconsular@govmu.org

Mauritian nationals in the above listed countries are also requested to contact the Mauritius High Commission in Pretoria. The contact numbers are as follows:

Tel: +27 12 342 1283 Mobile: +27 72 460 1747

Email: cons.mrupta@govmu.org

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration, International Trade 27 November 2021